the courts. Other localities soon followed suit and in 1834 York was incorporated as the self-governing city of Toronto. Further steps led to the Municipal Act of 1849, which is the foundation of the local government of to-day in Ontario and later provided a model for the Western Provinces. Subsequently, Acts have been passed in all provinces governing aspects of municipal incorporation, powers and duties.

Municipal government in every province of Canada existed in at least elementary form before Confederation. With such a background, the provision of the British North America Act that jurisdiction over municipal affairs would rest with the provinces has resulted, quite naturally, in dissimilarity in the organization of local government across the country. This stems not only from the difference in beginnings and subsequent independent growth in each province, but also from variations in requirements arising out of geographical and population differences.

The situation remains in a state of flux, with constant amendment of provincial Acts and charters in the attempt to solve old problems and to meet new ones. Just as the call for new and additional services has enlarged the scope of federal and provincial activities, the municipalities have had to assume responsibilities unheard of, or considered beyond their sphere of activity, a few decades ago. As a result, amendments to Acts have varied from those enlarging the powers and the boundaries of municipalities, to those establishing closer provincial control and greater financial aid.

The chief forms of municipal organization at present extant in the provinces of Canada are given in the following paragraphs.\*

Newfoundland.—Newfoundland has only one city, St. John's. The remainder of the population is mostly dispersed in small settlements around the coastline, and only since the passage of the Local Administration Act of 1937 have a few of the larger of these been set up individually with local councils as towns, or where two or three are close together, as rural districts (9 by 1949). These latter are not rural municipalities but merely towns consisting of two or more settlements. Local affairs in the remainder of the Province are administered by the Provincial Government.

Prince Edward Island.—The city of Charlottetown and seven towns, all incorporated by special Acts, comprise the total municipal organization in Prince Edward Island. They include less than one-half of one per cent of its total area and only one-quarter of its population. The remainder of the population is not organized municipally, as the three counties are purely provincial administrative units.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the Province. Halifax and Sydney are the only two cities and operate under special charters, with the latter also governed by some special legislation. Towns, which number 41, operate under the Town Incorporation Act. There are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However, 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality, and the other six two municipalities each, making a total of 24 rural municipalities.

New Brunswick.—The Province is wholly divided into 15 counties which are incorporated municipalities and have direct powers of local self-government in the rural areas. In effect, therefore, they are the rural municipalities. In most cases certain of their powers apply in urban municipalities also. The three cities have

<sup>\*</sup> Municipalities are summarized by type of organization on p. 102.